Team

Biog...

Paper Owl Films Ltd. Is a family run business creating content that matters for audiences all over the world.

Founded in 2012 by Gráinne McGuinness, Stephen Petticrew and Gavin Halpin, we are a diverse team of storytellers, film makers, animators and creators across our animation and live action facility.

The team brings an exciting mix of solid industry experience and fresh new talent to every project. We are passionate about creating content that makes a difference to wide and varied audiences.

Paper Owl Films TEAM

Gráinne Mc Guinness
Creative Director
grainne@paperowlfilms.com
Stephen Petticrew
Technical Director
stephen@paperowlfilms.com
FULL BIO
Gavin Halpin
Managing Director
gavin@paperowlfilms.com
FULL BIO
Andrea Murtagh
Company Accountant
andrea@paperowlfilms.com
FULL BIO
Claire Handley
Development Producer
claire@paperowlfilms.com
FULL BIO
Leanna Hillen
Art Director
leanna@paperowlfilms.com
FULL BIO
Matt Boyd
Production Manager
mattb@paperowlfilms.com
FULL BIO
Charlotte Kieran
Animation Director
charlotte@paperowlfilms.com
FULL BIO
Daisy Gould
Marketing Officer
daisy@paperowlfilms.com
FULL BIO
David McGrath
Director - Happy
david@paperowlfilms.com
Ciaran O’Connor
Production Coordinator - Happy
ciaran@paperowlfilms.com
Shannon McAfee
Production Trainee - Happy
shannon@paperowlfilms.com
Rachel Creaner
Senior Designer - Happy
rachel@paperowlfilms.com
Helen Dallat
Senior Designer - Happy
helen@paperowlfilms.com
Lochan O’Neill
Senior Designer - Happy
lochan@paperowlfilms.com
Michael Lilley
Junior Designer - Happy
michael@paperowlfilms.com
Sudipta Patra
Design Trainee - Happy
sudipta@paperowlfilms.com
Faith Brownlee
Assistant Animation Editor - Happy
faith@paperowlfilms.com
Colm McKenna
Rigging & Layout Artist - Happy
colm@paperowlfilms.com
Paul Walker
Rigging & Layout Artist - Happy
paul@paperowlfilms.com
Paul McGrath
Rigging & Layout Artist - Happy
paulm@paperowlfilms.com
Monica Herman
Layout Artist - Happy
monica@paperowlfilms.com
Ieuan Protheroe
Rigger - Happy
ieuan@paperowlfilms.com
Rebecca Balint
Lead Animator - Happy
rebecca@paperowlfilms.com
Trish Mc Nutt
Lead Animator - Happy
trishm@paperowlfilms.com
Felix Koehler
Animator - Happy
Felix@paperowlfilms.com
Una Grace
Animator - Happy
una@paperowlfilms.com
David Gray
Animator - Happy
davidg@paperowlfilms.com
Miles Peters
Animator - Happy
miles@paperowlfilms.com
Daniel James
Animator - Happy
daniel@paperowlfilms.com
Caoimhe Kerlin
Animation Trainee - Happy
caoimhe@paperowlfilms.com
Clare McKinney
Animation Trainee - Happy
clare@paperowlfilms.com
Ailbhe Ni Riain
ILBF Trainee
Ailbhe@paperowlfilms.com
Stephen Petticrew
Technical Director
stephen@paperowlfilms.com

Stephen is a cofounder of Paper Owl Films and Technical Director. Stephen edits a variety of projects for Paper Owl Films – and all on-screen content is quality monitored by his keen eye. His experience spans twenty years in in the industry, managing the postproduction process on a range of projects including commercials, broadcast programmes, corporate presentations and promos. Stephen oversees the final processes of polishing, grading and VFX for Paper Owl content and also mentors new postproduction talent. 

X
Gavin Halpin
Managing Director
gavin@paperowlfilms.com

Gavin Halpin is the Managing Director of Paper Owl Films, which he co-founded in 2012. Since graduating with a 1st class honours degree in Film and Communications from the Dublin Institute of Technology, Gavin has held almost every position in the industry. His experience has given him a unique perspective on the creativity, resilience and belief it takes to create awardwinning content. Gavin is a driving force in Paper Owl Films as the key business affairs contact and Executive Producer. He is also a fluent Irish speaker. 

X
Andrea Murtagh
Company Accountant
andrea@paperowlfilms.com

Bio yet to be completed. Bio yet to be completed. Bio yet to be completed. Bio yet to be completed. Bio yet to be completed. Bio yet to be completed. Bio yet to be completed. Bio yet to be completed.

X
Claire Handley
Development Producer
claire@paperowlfilms.com

Claire is Paper Owl Film’s Development Producer and has been part of the team since 2015Claire works closely with Gráinne, Paper Owl’s creative director, to developpitch and script write content for young audiences across digital and broadcast animation and live action projects. This includes two series of the award-winning Pablo, Ladybird and Bee, Happy and plenty of exciting new shows yet to be announced.   

X
Leanna Hillen
Art Director
leanna@paperowlfilms.com

Leanna is Paper Owl Films’ Art Director and currently working on the first series of Happy. Since joining Paper Owl Films in 2019, Leanna has worked in visual development and as a designer for various animation projects both in production and in development, including Sol, Mr Dog and Ladybird and Bee.  

Leanna grew up in Newry, Co. Down before studying animation at Ulster University, and has won awards for her work including an Excellence in Animation Award in 2020.  

X
Matt Boyd
Production Manager
mattb@paperowlfilms.com

Matt oversees Paper Owl Films’ production team and currently is Production Manager on the first series of Happy.  

Matt joined Paper Owl Films in 2020. His previous experience includes being part of the Emmy-winning production team on Game of Thrones, and working for broadcasters including RTE, CBBC, ITV, HBO, Amazon, S4C and NickJr. 

Matt is from Belfast and studied animation at Ulster University. 

X
Charlotte Kieran
Animation Director
charlotte@paperowlfilms.com

Charlotte is Animation Director at Paper Owl Films, currently heading a full team of animators on the first series of Happy. After completing a four-year Bachelor’s degree in Animation at IADT Dun Laoghaire, Charlotte took part in Northern Ireland Screen’s Aim High program. This involved industry training and internships at animation companies in Northern Ireland, including Paper Owl.  

Since joining Paper Owl Films, Charlotte has worked as an Animator, Designer and now Animation Director on various projects including Sol, Ladybird and Bee and two series of Pablo.  

X
Daisy Gould
Marketing Officer
daisy@paperowlfilms.com

As Paper Owl Films’ Marketing Officer, Daisy ensures that the world hears the good word of Paper Owl Films, working to build audiences for our shows and Paper Owl Films’ brand worldwide.  

Daisy studied Animation at Newport Film School followed by an MA in Arts Management at Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. She joins Paper Owl Films with over 5 years’ experience marketing in the film, festivals and arts space.  

X
Contact...

PAPER OWL FILMS
8 HIGH STREET,
HOLYWOOD, BT18 9AZ
+ 44 (0) 28 9590 1631

Paper Owl Films does not accept or consider any unsolicited materials. Please only send artwork, designs, ideas, screenplays, treatments, formats, or other similar materials through a recognised agent.